Hollywood Criminal Defense Attorneys
Honest and Committed Advocate Familiar with the Judges
At Magilligan Law, we promote honest and individualized legal representation as we work with our clients on building their defense. We are always trying to get the best results for our clients facing harsh criminal charges, and we treat all our clients like family. We also have a strong reputation among the judges and legal community. When you work with Magilligan Law, you can expect to work with a non-judgmental and accepting criminal defense attorney who will champion your side in court.
Schedule a free consultation with Magilligan Law at (954) 833-1454 or online here for more information.
Domestic Violence Laws in Florida
One serious category of crime in Florida is domestic violence. Domestic violence in the state is defined as assault or battery, aggravated assault or battery, sexual assault, sexual battery, stalking, aggravated stalking, kidnapping, false imprisonment, or any criminal offense resulting in physical injury or death committed by a family or household member against another family or household member.
A family or household member refers to any of the following persons:
- current or former spouses;
- persons related by blood or marriage;
- persons currently or formerly residing together as if a family; or
- parents who have a child in common, regardless of whether they were at any time married.
A defendant found guilty of a domestic violence offense must serve a minimum of 1 year on probation, during which they must attend a batterers’ intervention program. If the offense involved the intentional infliction of bodily harm to another person, they must serve a minimum of 5 days in county jail unless their sentence includes a non-suspended period of incarceration in a state correctional facility.
To learn more specific details about Florida’s domestic violence laws and possible defenses against such a charge, visit our domestic violence page.
Sexual Assault/Battery Offenses
Sex crimes are also serious offenses in Florida that could lead to significant consequences and a serious mark on a criminal record. Florida addresses a few different kinds of sex crimes, including sexual battery, prostitution, and sexual misconduct.
Sexual battery occurs when the defendant has oral, anal, or vaginal contact with another person using their sexual organ or an object without that person’s consent.
For more information on the specific elements of sex-related offenses in Florida, visit our page on sex crimes.
Misdemeanor and Felony Theft
Theft offenses are also significant crimes that could carry misdemeanor or felony penalties.
Florida law defines theft as knowingly obtaining, using, or attempting to obtain or use another’s property, with the intent to permanently or temporarily:
- deprive the person of the property, or
- convert the property to unauthorized use (e.g., embezzlement or misappropriation).
Some specific examples of theft include:
- a person walks by a restaurant table and grabs someone’s wallet;
- a shoplifter grabs a video game off the store shelf;
- a daughter has control over an elderly parent’s bank account and misuses the money to buy herself something; and
- a neighbor splices cable lines to get free video channels.
The penalties for theft depend on several factors, such as the amount stolen, the type of property or services stolen, and the circumstances involved. In Florida, the lowest level theft offense is misdemeanor “petty theft,” which involves property valued at less than $100. A person convicted of this second-degree misdemeanor could face up to 60 days of jail time and a $500 fine. If the property stolen is valued at $100 or more but less than $750, the offender commits petty theft of the first degree, which is punishable as a misdemeanor of the first degree that carries 1 year in jail and a $1,000 fine.
Theft of property worth more than $750 will be considered grand theft, either of the third-degree (property worth $750-$20,000), second-degree (property worth $20,000-$100,000), or first-degree (property worth $100,000 or more). A felony of the third degree can result in up to 5 years imprisonment and a fine not to exceed $5,000; s felony of the second degree carries a sentence of imprisonment of up to 15 years and a fine of no more than $10,000; and a first-degree felony carries a sentence of imprisonment of up to 30 years and a fine of up to $10,000.
Why Hire a Hollywood Criminal Defense Attorney?
Facing criminal charges can be an overwhelming and intimidating experience. It is vital to have a Hollywood criminal defense attorney on your side who understands Florida law, criminal court proceedings, and tactics criminal prosecutors use. The criminal defense attorneys at Magilligan Law understand the criminal law process and have substantial experience in defending clients. No matter what criminal charge you may face, having a criminal lawyer by your side can significantly reduce your chances of conviction or lessen any penalties you might encounter. Representing yourself in such situations could dramatically increase the odds of criminal conviction leading to unfavorable, long-term legal consequences.
Call Our Hollywood Criminal Defense Attorneys Today!
If you are facing criminal charges in Hollywood, do not hesitate to reach out to our team at Magilligan Law for legal support immediately. From domestic violence charges to sexual assault accusations to theft offenses, our criminal defense lawyer can fight in your defense and do our best to argue for mitigated or even dismissed charges.
Put an honest, committed criminal defense attorney on your Hollywood defense. Call (954) 833-1454 or contact Magilligan Law online today.